Tripping Over Joy

iiThinks

913279d88d7f94dbf62cebfb1fe18a71

Hey everyone

So when I got back from mexico I got really ill, which is why I haven’t been on wordpress much. Even now i’m in no condition to write any poems. So instead I thought I’d share with you one of my favourite poems by Hafiz. Im sure you’ve read it before!

“TRIPPING OVER JOY”

What is the difference
Between your experience of Existence
And that of a saint?

The saint knows
That the spiritual path
Is a sublime chess game with God

And that the Beloved
Has just made such a Fantastic Move

That the saint is now continually
Tripping over Joy
And bursting out in Laughter
And saying, “I Surrender!”

Whereas, my dear,
I am afraid you still think
You have a thousand serious moves.”

View original post

Leave a Reply

