What’s Behind Me

Leaving you behind is like passing someone on a freeway. For just a second we were side by side. We were in the same place.

But then I had to move on.

As I looked in my rear view mirror, I saw you behind me, appearing as though you weren’t moving. Because I was moving on so quickly, it was like you were standing still.

However instead of loosing focus, when I had distance ahead of you, I could see you more clearly.

I watch you keep taking the same exit, down the same road as before. Back around you come, and then do it all over again.

Soon I will be so far ahead of you that you will disappear from my rear view mirror, and all I will see is the open road behind me.

What I will remember is the brief moment in time when we shared that space on the freeway and the circles you drove in after I was gone.

Will it ever be different for you? Only God knows. Still I keeping driving, wondering who I might pass next.

Leave a Reply

